Shire of Capel 2020 Community Awards

Shire of Capel 2020 Community Awards

2020 – Biennial Community Awards

The Shire’s Biennial Community Awards was held on March 4 2020 at the Hugh Kilpatrick Hall in Boyanup. In partnership with Bendigo Bank, the awards honoured a wide variety of local volunteers, athletes, and community organisations. With over 200 people in attendance and some great entertainment and refreshments many fine achievements were celebrated on the evening. The Shire received a very high number of nominations for all categories with the winners of each category listed below:

Young sportsperson of the yearKaiden Richings

In an extremely competitive field Kaiden was awarded this award due to excellence in the sport of swimming. Among his many individual achievements, highlights included:

  • September 2019. Competed in the State Short Course Championships in Perth, winning 1 Silver and 2 Bronze medals.
  • December 2019. Competed at the State Long Course Championships in Perth, winning 1 Gold, 1 Silver and 2 Fourth placings.
  • January 2020. Competed at the 2020 Country Championships in Perth. Winning 7 Gold, 2 Silver and 3 Bronze medals.

Young Citizen of the year –  Cory Crombie

Among a strong field of nominees, para-athlete Cory Crombie received the Young Citizen of the Year Award. Over the past two years, Crombie has worked to create new, exciting opportunities for people with disabilities within the region. Crombie was recognised for his achievements, being a finalist in both the Young Citizen and Young Sportsperson award categories.

Sports Person of the YearAnita Scott

Anita Scott was recognised for her life time achievement of excellence in the sport of hockey. Having commenced playing at 6 years of age, Anita has achieved almost everything in this sport. Highlights include:

  • Represented the Shire of Capel in the South West Games many times
  • 25-year involvement with the South West Strikers Women’s Hockey team as a player and mentor
  • Life member of Boyanup Hockey Club
  • Representative of WA and Australian Masters teams at national and international competitions since 2011


Citizen of the YearValerie Sanders

Valerie Sanders was recognised for her many decades’ achievement across multiple community services organisations in Boyanup. A quiet, dedicated and productive citizen of our Shire, Valerie has:

  • Been an active member with the Boyanup Post since its inception as a newsletter for the Hall over forty years ago.
  • Valerie joined the Boyanup CWA in 2001. She is the Press Officer and is a former Vice President and occasionally fills in as Secretary.
  • Before the Hugh Kilpatrick Hall was built in 1981, Valerie, as a founding member, was a member of the Ladies Hall Committee whose catering over several years played a big part in funding the construction and completion of the Boyanup Hall.
  • Valerie is the Co-ordinator of the local Garden Group and has been an active member since 2001.
  • She also organizes and co-ordinates the Tai Chi/exercise group for over 55s held weekly on a Tuesday at the Jack and Mary Kitchen Community Centre.


Bendigo Bank Community Group of the YearDalyellup Collective

Since their inception in April 2019, the Dalyellup Collective have been a creative powerhouse, organising and creating many activities, events, programs and initiatives in the Dalyellup Community. Among their many achievements, the collective brought community groups and residents together for the 2019 Dalyellup Community Christmas Festival. Key statistics from this event alone included:

  • Approximately 3,500 Dalyellup and South West residents in attendance between 3-9pm.
  • 36 community groups, schools, sporting clubs and churches participated had a stall or performed.
  • 49 businesses provided financial or in-kind support.